Oats and Celiac Disease, the Confusing Controversy


Are Oats really gluten free?If you have celiac disease and are confused about the safety of oats you are not alone.

A few years ago they were excluded from the celiac diet list. Now oats can be eaten- but tread with caution.  We personally welcomed them back with open arms as an old an unforgettable friend, we love cooking with and eating oats.

What is the concern about oats?

Oats and oat flour that are not certified gluten free may be cross contaminated.  Yes, of course, always the worry with celiac disease- but why oats?

Farmers tend to rotate their fields for the health of their crops.  Wheat along with other offensive grains and oats are not excluded from this rotation cycle.  This translates into oats possibly being grown and harvested from a field that had wheat or another grain in it the previous year.

Within the transition from field to facility, contamination may also occur with other grains, rendering oats inedible to those with celiac disease.

*Note- Regardless of their source and if they are truly gluten free, some individuals with celiac disease cannot tolerate oats.

Where do you source gluten free oats?

Many companies now have dedicated fields and equipment for growing and processing gluten free oats. (yay!)

Here is a short list to get you started.  Most health food stores now carry these vendors, so they are quite easy to find.  If you can’t seem to find them locally or prefer to buy in bulk, click below and follow the links!

I usually cook with Bob’s Red Mill and so far we are stomach ache free.  Try them in small amounts to be sure they agree with you.

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Rolled Oats

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Whole Grain Oat Flour

Arrowhead Mills Gluten Free Steel Cut Oats

Cream Hill Estates Kosher Lara’s Gluten Free Oats



  1. Katie says:

    Nice article! Trader Joe’s also has gluten free oats, which is a lifesaver, as they’re about half the price of Bob’s. http://www.traderjoes.com/fearless-flyer/article.asp?article_id=251

    • jewels says:

      Thanks Katie,
      I have bought them before from Trader Joe’s, I wish we had one closer to us as their prices are remarkable. They say gluten free on the packaging from Trader Joe’s as well.

Speak Your Mind


Wordpress Updates and Custom Themes - Frizzmop